Introduced in the year 1967, Rugby 10s was developed by the Combined Old Boys Rugby Association (COBRA) to enable Asian players to compete with better chances against larger sized rugby players from the traditional rugby playing nations. Known as ten-a-side or Xs, Rugby 10s teams consist of 10 players each with 5 forwards and 5 backs. Each match lasts for 20-minutes, with two 10-minute halves, except for the final game which lasts for 30-minutes.

Since its introduction four decades ago, COBRA has been organizing annual Invitation/International Rugby 10s matches that has attracted top local and international rugby clubs. This yearly 2-day tournament, held in Petaling Jaya Stadium, Kelana Jaya has grown from a local to international tournament with more than 40 nation participating.


The rules are similar to rugby sevens, with the World Rugby publishing the tens Variations in 2012.

Unlike sevens rugby, tens offer players of diverse skills, capabilities and different fitness levels the opportunity to continue to enjoy the game they love so much. The more traditional scrums and lineouts are part of the game whilst the fact that there is a bit more space on the field, however not too much as to expose the slower forwards on the defensive lines, makes this a very popular game for all levels of players.

read more

Unlike the other two major rugby union variants - sevens and beach rugby - which were invented in major rugby nations, rugby tens was developed in Malaysia, a Tier-3 rugby playing nation that has never qualified for the Rugby World Cup.

Major rugby tens tournaments include the COBRA Rugby Tens (since 1967), the Hong Kong Football Club Tens (since 1986), Brisbane Global Rugby Tens and the World Club 10s. Other regular tournaments, the massively popular Cape Town Tens, first held in 2009 and currently the biggest ten-a-side rugby tournament in the world are very popular tournaments and attracts teams from all over the world to Cape Town every year during the first week of February.